Posted by: iluvclouds | February 3, 2010

Quitting my job.

I’ve been doing the accounting at the church for the last 10 years.  I did have about a year off when I was planning on moving to Colorado.  Well that never happened so I took my job back.  Have been doing it in only 1 or 2 days a week.  With the church renovation that morphed into 3.5 days.  So this summer I was busy with the renovation and did not spend a lot of time in my garden and found I really missed it.  So I was already thinking about either taking the summer off or just doing the bare minimun ammount of time in the office, when we found out about becoming grandparents.  So as I let this sink in it just solidified my choice to take the summer off and possible quit altogether.  Even if my SIL had not got orders to San Diego (which I also know can be change) I have made up my mind that it is time to let the job go.  If I don’t do it now I may be stuck here forever.  I do enjoy what I do, but as the church grows I aslo question if I am the best person for the job as I really have no training and sometimes question if I am doing things the right way.  Well my decision came at the same time that the pastor was looking for someone to do more of his administrative duties sohe can focus on pastoring.  So along came pastors sister-in-law to help as she has worked in lots of offices.  Well it has not been a smooth transition so far.  We have gone from a very relaxed-it doesn’t matter how you get the job done as long as it gets done kind of atmoshere to having to be in the office certain hours and logging what we do.  I’ve found that I am very good at seeing problems and solving them without much supervision.  Now I am being told we should change the way we do things and I don;t see there is a problem here to fix.  But the good news is that I have had more face time with the pastor this last week and got out some issues that have been there for a while, but I have not pushed with him becasue he is so busy.  But I did feel that because I do my job well without supervision that he felt it was OK to break my appointments with him for others who were more needy of his time.  He was also the one who suggested me writing again as I can express myself better on paper.  I have always been like that because I do tend to get emotional.  When I was a teen I would write letters to my dad when I was having difficulties with him and it helped our relationship.  So anyhow I went from quitting or cutting back for the summer to out and out wuitting.   And guess what I really feel good about my decision.  It’s not like I won’t still be there and still be needed, just I won’t be on call all the time like I feel I am sometimes now.  I hope to add a class or two to my teaching next year, but that is somehting I just started doing last year and am enjoying it as I get to know the course material.  I know this has morphed into so many topics in one, but everything is so entertwined nowadays.  So now to plan my garden for the year….And my plans to spoil my grandchild…

Leave a Reply

Categories

