Posted by: iluvclouds | February 3, 2010

I’m gonna be a grandma.

Well I knew it was bound to happen.  When my daughter told me they were trying, I put in the request to try fast as I teach so would like to be able to be there and spend time with them during the summer.  Well they got busy and we go tthe news early in December that we would be grandparents by the end of August (20th is the due date).  At first I said I was too young and wanted to be called “Nana”-which is close to the nickname my dad has for me “Nanner”.  But now I have fully embraced my being a young grandma so I can really enjoy the grandkid(s) and spoil them.  Of course the difficulty is that SIL is in the Navy and they have been in South Carolina since they got married in August 2008.  So my plan was to at least spend August with them whereever they were going to be.  Well we got exciting news a couple of weeks ago.  With his school ending Jan 29th, he got word of his next duty station.  They will be in San Diego, yay yay yay yay!!!!!  Can you tell I am excited?  This is such good news.  I had my first two kids overseas and therefore did not have any support from parents (except for care packages).  So I am thrilled to be able to support her when she has her first baby (it is such a shock to your life-in a good sleepless way).  Of course life doesn’t always go the way you think it is going.  The rest of the story……Military???

Leave a Reply

Categories

