Posted by: iluvclouds | October 12, 2008

Half Marathon race report

Hey, just finished my half marathon today.  Lately I have been having to really talk myself into doing it every time I go for a run.  I don’t think I was quite prepared, but everyone on the team was so encouraging.  I did it within my time frame.  I wanted to do it between 3 hrs and 3 1/2 hrs.  I did 3:09:36.  Yay!!  I did end up with some pain behind my left knee and also on top of my left foot.  From reading up on it (gotta love the internet), I think I have a stress fracture to my second metatarsal.  Will go to the doctor tomorrow if it is still tender.  Don’t know what the behind the knee pain is yet, will research that later.  I did go out nice and slow with a couple of ladies I knew would be really slow.  Have learned who to avoid when they say they will be going slow, their slow for me is still very fast.  Left my friends and started running by myself at around mile 7.  Am a bit sore now, but hopefully will feel better tomorrow.  Need to be up and walking by Tuesday as I have work.  Am looking forward to properly preparing for the next half.  Of course I may have to do this one next year to see how much I’ve progressed.  Weather turned out to be beautiful although it did start out a bit chilly so I wore my leggings under my shorts.  Got up about 1:45 this morning and could not get back to sleep.  Slept a little this afternoon, but woke up with a very dry mouth.

Leave a Reply

Categories

