Posted by: iluvclouds | September 7, 2008

New Job for the Fall

As if I’m not doing enough already with working part-time at the church doing the bookkeeping and all, homeschooling my son (hey at least I am down to just 1 child now), I interviewed for a job with a university that has classes for homeschooling kids.  And I got the job.  Mind you it is only for 1 class, for 1 hour, 2 times a week and it is a class which I like; Algebra 1.  I know, I know, I hear all the groans, but there are some of us out there who actually like math.  I groan when I hear that someone really likes history or writing, yuck.  I read the paper (I don’t mind reading, it is just writing I don’t care for-at least writing that is graded and has to be a certain way, I don’t mind writing for this blog or writing letters-although I have gone more to calling than writing) as I eat breakfast and then I do the sudoku puzzle, which sometimes amazes me that I can do the harder ones later in the week and am sometimes stumped by the easy ones on Monday (but maybe it is just because it is Monday).  Anyhow, we had our orientation last week where we met our students and their parents and did a short presentation.  I was nervous and didn’t say everything I had planned on (was worried about running out of time), but all that they needed to know about the class was in the intro letter anyhow.  So I have a total of 8 students as of Friday and am really looking forward to it.  Kind of hard with my kids, especially the girls, they would give me attitudes when I tried to explain to them what they did wrong (they of course did not think they did anything wrong).  I know most people (even me sometimes) cringe at having to do word problems so that of course will be my greatest challenge, but so much of the algebra people actually do in real life are word problems, right?  So I plan to make sure they have the tools and knowledge so that in the future they don’t have to cringe when they here there will be word problems.  And I know most of the kids parents are probably not good at math or haven’t done Algebra in a a while so I will be a blessing to them.  So expect to hear more in the coming months about my new adventure.

Leave a Reply

Categories

