Posted by: iluvclouds | March 31, 2008

Thinking of running a half-marathon

On Friday I received an email from Prevention and it had a link to the Long Beach marathon for their program of walking a marathon.  Now I have done some running and even did a relay 5 or 10 k quite a number of years ago (I thought I was in shape and could do my leg no problem, but I was huffing and puffing and had to walk some).  Now I’m not into race walking-feel kind of tied down and want to run since I’m walking so fast.  Anyway I spent the majority of Friday on the site and looking into the training program, and actually contemplating running in the half-marathon (I’m a little crazy, not a lot).   I have a fiend who has run 2 marathons in the last year, the Aids marathon in Hawaii and the Los Angeles marathon (but she is like 15 years younger than me).  She cut her time by about 30 minutes, but still ran the LA in 6 1/2 hours, and I can’t fathom running for that long.  Anyway I have been good about going to the gym 2 to 3 times a week and doing 60 minutes on the elliptical or bike.  The training program for the Long Beach marathon is with Beach Runners and the coaches do something called chirunning which incorporates tai chi and running.  They say that you can be running pain and injury free (wouldn’t that be nice).  They meet every Saturday (beginning at the end of May), do a 50 minute training session, then a 30 minute run (60 minutes for the full marathon people) and then they take you through a 45 minute yoga session.  I suppose even if I chicken out of doing the half marathon the training itself would be worth the cost of the program (around $200).  I’ve done some running (or jogging if you will) on and off over the years (spring seems to get me out more of course).  But have never had any training and run by myself although I’d love to have someone to run with.  I done yoga, by myself again using video tapes and have enjoyed it.  I’ve also looked into taichi, but haven’t really done any of that yet.  So this training has really sparked my interest.  Plus having 3 kids (2 are over 18 now) I rarely do something just for me.  I have tried the c25k program before (couch to 5k), but never stayed with it for more than a couple weeks, partly because of having to use as stopwatch because they have you running for a short period and then walking and then running again, etc.  Now a guy has made podcasts that go along with the program, and along with the music he tells you when to run and when to walk.  Now I basically have until the end on May to sign up so today I decided I’d try the c25k program again and see if I can make it till the end of May.  I wish I could just make the commitment now, but I don’t want to sign up and then find I really don’t want to or can’t do all that training, you need to run 2 or 3 times during the week also, and do it all summer long (Long Beach marathon is Oct 12).  So anyhow I will try to blog my progress and see if that helps.  Did the c25k w1d1 workout today, the first running interval I was asking myself what was I doing, but by the end I was feeling good and confident I could do it.  See you Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

Categories

