Posted by: iluvclouds | July 4, 2007

Flowers in the Sea

This is my latest quilt. I was so excited to try this pattern. It is called “Magical Slice and Dice”. If you can believe it all the blocks were made from the same fabric, just sliced up and put back together to form the kadleiascope like patterns.

This is the main fabric for the blocks. Other than that there is the sashing fabric (black) and the triangle setting blocks to make the main blocks on-point. The really interesting part was the block were first put together in a straight set (the setting blocks were placed in strategic locations. Then one diagonal was cut and the results were sewn together and another diagonal cut nd when sewn together formed the center of the quilt with the setting triangles. All that needed to be done was put the inner and outer borders on. You do need to be very careful when you put the inner border on as all the edges are now diagonal cuts and streth very easily.

Here is a close up of some of the blocks.

Another close up of just 1 block.

And another block close up.

And here is a picture of the other two fabrics I used. Can’t wait to find another big print fabric to use this pattern on. I had a lot of fun. Now it will probably take me a year or so to get it quilted. Putting the tops together is what I really like to do. I am not so good with getting them quilted and finished.

Responses

  1. Wow! That is beautiful! Great job!

  2. Thanks for the compliment. I really like to cut out and piece together the quilt tops, but don’t like quilting them. I have even tried machine quilting, but get tired out pushing the bulky fabric and all. I have been trying o stay with just crib or lap size quilts so that I can get them finished (usually just tie those). I did a whole bunch last year to get rid of fabric and sent them with out church’s ministry team to an orphanage in Mexico.

  3. I know what you mean about trying to get the bulky fabric through the machine. I’ve only done one large one but the rest have been baby blankets. I tie them off or hand quilt the whole thing. Needless to say, I don’t make many often. I just don’t have the patience for it.
    That’s a great idea for the left over fabric. I bet they loved those blankets in Mexico! That was sweet of you to do!
    Who ever get this one when you do quilt it will be thrilled, I’m sure!

  4. This one will probably be mine, but my son will probably try to claim it. He loves blackets and pillows (he’s 12). Just ordered him a new bed, should be in next week. He’s going to be so excited (sssshhhhh, its a secret). He’s had his current twin size loft bed (a little shorted than a bunk bed and is only the top) for so long. I got him a captains bed with drawers underneath and it is also full size. I thought when I told my husband the price he would kill me (but my son will still love me at least), but he actually thought I spend more than I did, what a relief.


Leave a Reply

Categories

