Posted by: iluvclouds | June 5, 2007

New Insights

Had a session with my pastor and husband about my timeline. This is something I (and several others) have been working with the pastor on in order to help us find our calling and where we fit into the church. Although I have done my timeline on paper, noting critical turning points in my life, it was kind of eye-opening (and a little emotional) to tell the story to someone else. And with my husband there it brought up some things that I had forgotten (I guess because they were not as important to me as they were to him.) We both remember certain events, but place importance on different parts of them. It was eye-opening to my husband to realize how the moves we have had to make (due to being in the military) have been hard on me due to friendships being lost and being away from family. Some of my core values that showed up in the timeline were family and friends, independence, fixing things and helping others. I also had kind of a breakthrough in that because I have had to be so independent (moving away from family and friends and having to establish homes at different locations) that I have a hard time being dependant on God and others (including my husband). I tend to try to fix things and try to plan out and be in charge of my life. Another thing that came out is that while I have been learning how to be a submissive wife (from a Bible study I am doing), I also need to submit to God. It is exciting to be able to be closer to God as He is showing me how he has made me and what things he might want to be doing through me and my past experiences which have helped mold me into the person I am today. As I do learn to trust in Him, the less anxious I am about the future, it doesn’t mean that will still not have trials and heartaches, but it is comforting to know that He is there with me at all times.

Leave a Reply

Categories

