Posted by: iluvclouds | May 31, 2007

Patience

Hear me, oh Lord, for your lovingkindness is good; turn to me according to the multitude of your tender mercies. And do not hide Your face from Your servant, for I am in trouble; hear me speedily. Psalm 69:16-17

Whenever I have a verse I go back and read the chapter so I know how the verse relates to the whole story. Often what we think the verse is talking about can be somthing different. I encourage you to do the same. This chapter has so much in it (I love the Psalms). This is about a believer who just feels the weight of the world on his shoulders. He feels persecuted and wronged and at the end of his rope, but still holds out because he knows God will answer his prayers. And God does answer our prayers, but often not in our time and sometimes not with the answer we want. (see my story of how God changed my heart this year-“Softened Heart” in Faith catergory.

Another verse that hit me when I read the chapter was. Psalm 69:5-6

You know my folly, O God; my guilt is not hidden from you. May those who hope in you not be disgraced because of me, O Lord, the Lord Almighty; may those who seek you not be put to shame because of me, O God of Israel.

If we are Christian we need to make sure that when we witness to others that we make sure that they look to Jesus as their roll model and not us, as we stumble and fall so many times. At moments we may look very much like Christ and that is our hope that we would become more and more like Christ, but more often than not we make mistakes and we need to make sure that others know we are not perfect and we need God just as much as they do. We can fall in some deep pits even when we think we are being like Jesus, it is only in hindsight that we can see we were not following His ways.

Leave a Reply

Categories

