Posted by: iluvclouds | May 30, 2007

Foolproof Therapy

We are back in Proverbs today.

Proverbs 17:22   A cheerful heart is good medicine, but a crushed spirit dries up the bones.

I agree with that.  It is so hard to look at things and be cheerful when you have a crushed spirit and if you let things get you down you won’t be able to see the beauty all around us.  So often we look at our failures and when we do that we die a little more.  At work (my church) we start every weekly staff meeting with sharing what went well at the Sunday service.  This sets the tone for the entire meeting.  While one may not have anything to contribute at the beginning, once we get started everyone has at least one thing that was good.  And I may not be the best optimist in the world, but I am trying, hence my page “Focus on the positive” when I try to daily blog the things that went well that day.  So instead of complaining about how badly I did on my diet yesterday, I will write about the positive things I did.  One positive about yesterday is that there are no more Cherry Cordial kisses in the house calling my name.  I won’t say that the reason there are no more is that I was a pig and ate them all.  And of course today is a new day and there are lots of things to be thankful for.  So when you are down, remember to think of the good things you have.

Responses

  1. “Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.” Philippians 4:8

    I’m glad you are posting these. It helps me to remember God’s word and be encouraged!


Leave a Reply

Categories

